9th European Conference on Evolutionary Computation, Machine Learning and Data Mining in Bioinformatics

The European Conference on Evolutionary Computation, Machine Learning and Data Mining in Bioinformatics is a multidisciplinary conference that brings together researchers working in Bioinformatics that apply advanced techniques coming from Evolutionary Computation, Machine Learning, and Data Mining to address important problems in molecular biology, proteomics, genomics and genetics. The primary focus of the conference is to present the latest advances of these approaches for Bioinformatics and to provide a forum for the discussion of new research directions.

evobio 2011 will be the 9th annual European Conference on Evolutionary Computation, Machine Learning and Data Mining in Bioinformatics. The conference will be held in conjunction with the eurogp (14th European Conference on Genetic Programming), evocop (11th European Conference on Evolutionary Computation in Combinatorial Optimisation) and evoapplications, the specialist conference on a range of evolutionary computation topics and applications.

For the latest updates, please join the evobio group on Facebook.

Areas of Interest and Contributions

Topics of interest include but are not limited to:

  • biomarker discovery
  • cell simulation and modelling
  • ecological modelling
  • fluxomics
  • gene networks
  • high-throughput biotechnology
  • metabolomics
  • microarray analysis
  • phylogeny
  • protein interaction
  • proteomics
  • sequence analysis and alignment
  • biological networks analysis
  • systems biology

Publication Details

Each accepted paper will be presented orally or as a poster at the conference and will be printed in the proceedings published by Springer Verlag in the LNCS series.

The accepted papers of the previous editions of evobio were published in the Springer Verlag LNCS. The first 4 editions (2003–2006) were published in the LNCS  2611, 3005, 3449, 3907, together with the remaining evoWorkshops. Since 2007 evobio became a evo* conference and its proceedings were published in  Springer Verlag LNCS 4447, 4973, 5483, 6023, respectively

The authors of papers which receive the best reviews will be nominated for the Best paper Award. Papers nominated for the best paper award will also be invited to expand their publication for a special issue of BioData Mining.

Submission Details

Submissions must be original and not published elsewhere. The submissions will be peer reviewed by at least three members of the program committee. The authors of accepted papers will have to improve their paper on the basis of the reviewers’ comments and will be asked to send a camera ready version of their manuscripts. At least one author of each accepted work has to register for the conference and attend the conference and present the work.

The reviewing process will be double-blind, please omit information about the authors in the submitted paper. Submit your manuscript in Springer LNCS format.

submission link: http://myreview.csregistry.org/evobio11/
evobio is interested in papers in three major areas:

  1. Full research articles (maximum 12 pages) describing new methodologies, approaches, and/or applications (oral or poster presentation).
  2. System Demonstrations (maximum 6 pages) outlining the nature of the system and describe why the demonstration is likely to be of interest for the conference. Demonstrations of interest include systems under development or in active use in research or practice domains. Selected demo submissions may be asked to give an oral presentation in the conference sessions.
  3. Short reports (maximum 6 pages) describing new methodologies, approaches, and/or applications (poster presentation)

Important Dates

new submission deadline: 13 december 2010
notification to authors: 14 january 2011
camera-ready deadline: 5 february 2011
evo* event:
27-29 april 2011

Programme Chairs

Clara Pizzuti
ICAR, National Research Council of Italy

Marylyn Ritchie
Vanderbilt University

Publication Chair

Mario Giacobini
University of Torino

Programme Committee

Aguilar-Ruiz Jesus, Universidad Pablo de Olavide, Spain
Banzhaf Wolfgang, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada
Blazewicz Jacek, Poznan University of Technology, Poland
Boczko Erik, Vanderbilt University, USA
Bush William, Vanderbilt University, USA
Catalpete Zehra, Instanbul University, Turkey
Congdon Clare, Bates University of Southern Maine, USA
Cotta Carlos, University of Malaga, Spain
Divina Federico, Pablo de Olavide University Seville, Spain
Dundas Jitesh, Edencore Technologies, USA
Edwards Todd, Miami University, USA
Eppstein Maggie, University of Vermont, USA
Fogel Gary, Natural Selection, Inc., USA
Frasconi Paolo, Universita’ degli Studi di Firenze, Italy
Giancarlo Raffaele, Università di Palermo, Italy
Giugno Rosalba, University of Catania, Italy
Hamel Lutz, University of Rhode Island, USA
Hao Jin-Kao, University of Angers, France
Heskes Tom, Radboud University Nijmegen, NL
Jia, Zhenyu, University of California, Irvine, USA
Koyuturk Mehmet, Case Western Reserve University, USA
Krasnogor Natalio, University of Nottingham, UK
Langdon Bill, Kings College London, UK
Lones Michael, University of York, UK
Marbach Daniel, Ecole Polytechnique Fèdèrale de Lausanne, Switzerland
Marchiori Elena, VU University Amsterdam, NL
Martin Andrew, University College London, UK
MacCallun Bob, Imperial College London, UK
McKinney Brett, University of Alabama Birmingham, USA
Meiler Jens, Vanderbilt University, USA
Moore Jason, H.Dartmouth University, USA
Moscato Pablo, The University of Newcastle, Australia
Motsinger-Reif Alison, North Carolina State University, USA
Moulton Vincent, University of East Anglia, UK
Ng See-Kiong, Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore
Orsenigo Carlotta, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Raymer Michael, Wright State University, USA
Rombo Simona, Università della Calabria, Italy
Rowland Jem, Aberystwyth University, UK
Rojo Raul Giraldez, Pablo de Olivade University, Spain
Sezerman Ugur, Sabanci University, Turkey
Smith Marc,L., Vassar College, USA
Talbi El-Ghazali, Université des Sciences et Technologies de Lille Sciences, France
Thornton-Wells Tricia, Vanerbilt University, USA
Trudgian Dave, University of Exeter, UK
Urso Alfonso M., ICAR-CNR, Italy
Ye Kai, Leiden Amsterdam Center for Drug Research, NL
Vercellis Carlo, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Walshe Ray, Dublin City University, Ireland
Williams Tiffani, Texas A&M University, USA
van Kampen Antoine, Universiteit van Amsterdam, NL
Volkert Gwenn, Kent State University, USA
Zell Andreas, University of Tübingen, Germany
Zhao Zhongming, Vanderbilt University, USA
Zitzler Eckart, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
Zupan Blaz, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia