3rd European event on Bio-inspired Algorithms in Games

Games, and especially video games, are now a major part of the finance and software industries, and an important field for cultural expression. They also provide an excellent testbed for and application of a wide range of computational intelligence methods including evolutionary computation, neural networks, fuzzy systems, swarm intelligence, and temporal difference learning. There has been a rapid growth in research in this area over the last few years.

This event focuses on new computational intelligence or biologically inspired techniques that may be of practical value for improvement of existing games or creation of new games, as well as on innovative uses of games to improve or test computational intelligence algorithms. We invite prospective participants to submit full papers following Springer’s LNCS guidelines.

Areas of Interest and Contributions

Topics include but are not limited to:

  • Computational Intelligence in video games
  • Learning in games
  • Intelligent avatars and new forms of player interaction
  • Player satisfaction measurement and optimization
  • Procedural content generation
  • Human-like artificial adversaries and emotion modelling
  • Authentic movement, believable multi-agent control
  • Experimental methods for gameplay evaluation
  • Evolutionary testing and debugging of games
  • Adaptive and interactive narrative
  • Games related to social, economic, and financial simulations
  • Adaptive educational/serious games
  • General game intelligence (e.g. general purpose drop-n-play Non-Player Characters, NPCs).

Publication Details

Accepted papers will appear in the proceedings of evo*, published in a volume of the Springer Lecture Notes in Computer Science, which will be available at the Conference.

Submission Details

Submissions must be original and not published elsewhere. The submissions will be peer reviewed by at least three members of the program committee. The authors of accepted papers will have to improve their paper on the basis of the reviewers’ comments and will be asked to send a camera ready version of their manuscripts. At least one author of each accepted work has to register for the conference and attend the conference and present the work.

The reviewing process will be double-blind, please omit information about the authors in the submitted paper. Submit your manuscript in Springer LNCS format.

submission link: http://myreview.csregistry.org/evoapps11/
page limit: 10 pages

Important Dates

new submission deadline: 13 december 2010
notification to authors: 14 january 2011
camera-ready deadline: 5 february 2011
evo* event:
27-29 april 2011

Programme Chairs

Mike Preuss
TU Dortmund University

Julian Togelius
IT University of Copenhagen (Center for Computer Games Research)

Georgios N. Yannakakis
IT University of Copenhagen (Center for Computer Games Research)

Programme Committee

Lourdes Araujo (UNED, Spain)
Wolfgang Banzhaf (Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada)
Luigi Barone (University of Western Australia, Australia)
Robin Baumgarten (Imperial College London, UK)
Paolo Burelli (IT-Universitetet i København, Denmark)
Simon Colton (Imperial College London, UK)
Ernesto Costa (Universidade de Coimbra, Portugal)
Carlos Cotta (Universidad de Málaga, Spain)
Marc Ebner (Universität Tübingen, Germany)
Anikó Ekárt (Aston University, UK)
Anna Esparcia Alcázar (S2 Grupo, Spain)
Antonio J Fernández Leiva (Universidad de Malaga, Spain)
Francisco Fernández (Universidad de Extremadura, Spain)
Edgar Galvan-Lopes (University College Dublin, Ireland)
Leo Galway (University of Ulster, UK)
Mario Giacobini (Università degli Studi di Torino, Italy)
Johan Hagelbäck (Blekinge Tekniska Högskola, Sweden)
John Hallam (University of Southern Denmark, Denmark)
David Hart (Fall Line Studio, USA)
Erin Hastings (University of Central Florida, USA)
Philip Hingston (Edith Cowan University, Australia)
Stefan Johansson (Blekinge Tekniska Högskola, Sweden)
Krzysztof Krawiec (Poznan University of Technology, Poland)
Pier Luca Lanzi (Politecnico di Milano, Italy)
Simon Lucas (University of Essex, UK)
Penousal Machado (Universidade de Coimbra, Portugal)
Tobias Mahlmann (IT-Universitetet i København, Denmark)
Hector P. Martinez (IT-Universitetet i København, Denmark)
JJ Merelo (Universidad de Granada, Spain)
Risto Miikkulainen (University of Texas at Austin, USA)
Antonio Mora (Universidad de Granada, Spain)
Steffen Priesterjahn (Wincor Nixdorf, Germany)
Jan Quadflieg (TU Dortmund, Germany)
Moshe Sipper (Ben-Gurion University, Israel)
Noor Shaker (IT-Universitetet i København, Denmark)
Terry Soule (University of Idaho, USA)
Christian Thurau (Fraunhofer-Institut für Intelligente Analyse- und Informationssysteme, Germany)